IMG_9042

TRIBUTE TO THE BRIDGERS
***

Growing up in Bozeman, I hiked Baldy and I hiked the ridge and figured there wasn’t anything more to it. I’d been to the top, and from town, at the bottom, I could scan everything in between with a single glance. The range reduced into two dimensions. It was a backdrop.

IMG_8857

Now I can’t do anything there without finding something I haven’t seen before. There is the sensational– last spring, a sow black bear standing on her hind legs, scratching her back on a douglas fir– and the diminutive. Fossils in limestone.

This is what I want to keep doing with my life. Strike out broadly into the great unknowns– but then turn around– and discover the microcosmic patterns I was incapable of seeing before.

***

IMG_9005

IMG_8874

IMG_8938

IMG_9011

IMG_9008

IMG_9081

IMG_9000

